History

How everything began…

The history of Königsee Implantate goes back until the end of World War I: In 1919 orthopaedic technician Otto Bock found a company in Berlin, to treat veterans with prosthesis and orthopaedic products. This company soon moved to the original home-town of Otto Bock: Königsee, Thuringia. Otto Bock implemented the idea, to manufacture prosthesis parts in a serial production and to distribute and sell these products to local orthopaedic technicians. After World War II in 1948 the company sustained great tragedy: the company founder was expropriated and the company then was state-owned.

With the fall of the Berlin-Wall, the company was sold and went back into the ownership of Otto Bock. The company-part manufacturing implants and instruments was sold under the name of "Orthopädie Königsee" to a French investor. In September 1993 this project went bankrupt.

With this development a door was opened for Erich Orschler: after a short negotiation with the city and the federal state he found a new company in October 1993 "Königsee Implantate und Instrumente zur Osteosynthese GmbH" situated in Königsee. With a small number of machines and strong will of the remaining employees the former "Orthopädie Königsee" formed the beginning of the success-story of Königsee Implantate.

2017

This year Königsee Implantate enlarges its extensive radius portfolio and launches the variable angle-stable radius plate 2.4. Because of its innovating characteristics a save treatment of radius fractures is possible.

Furthermore the TRILOB nail, a compact system for fracture treatment on dog`s limb bones, and the upgrade-set for the TIS™ screw is presented.

Based on the convincing holistic energy management, Königsee Implantate is winner of the Thuringia Energy Efficiency Award 2017.

1993

Foundation of the Company: Erich Orschler foundet the company „Königsee Implantate und Instrumente zur Osteosynthese GmbH” in Königsee. The beginning of manufacturing with seven employees was the main focus in the first time.

1994

Already one year after its foundation the manufacturing material titanium is introduced next to stainless steel.

1995

Because the facilities in Königsee soon were not enough anymore the company obtains a piece of land in Aschau. In Oktober of the same year the 13 employees move to a new 600sqm company-building.

1996

In this year Königsee Implantate patented the Non-Contact-plate, most recent CNC-manufacturing machines are purchased and the distribution structure is enhanced to whole Germany. At this time 20 people are employed.

1997

The engineers are able to make a great step forward: for the first time it is possible to perform a minimally-invasive surgery with a vertebral body replacement. Königsee Implantate is nominated for the Thuringia Innovations-Price and employs at this time 28 people.

1998

A NASA-Technology optimizes the quality of titanium-implants: The advantages of the new process are greater strength and a clear reduction of the risk of friction-corrosion and "cold welding". A world-wide patent protects since this year the vertebral body replacement. The hight-adjustable vertebral body cage was developed in 1997 and is used for the first time during an operation. Our company is certified according to ISO 46001 & directive 42/93 EEC. At that time already 48 men and women are employed and together receive the Innovations-Price Thuringia.

1999

In this year Königsee Implantate develops new angle-stable systems, which shorten the fracture healing time a lot. Königsee Implantate is able to get the honorary price called "Neuland 2" as well as the "Wissenschaftspreis MO". The number of employees increased to 50.

2000

Königsee Implantate develops together with spanish orthopaedics a patented screw-rod-system for the spine. For the world-wide distribution of this implant a cooperation contract with Johnson & Johnson was signed.

The constant increase of the company demands for doubling the production space with new production halls. This year Königsee Implantate happily receives the „OSKAR for medium-sized companies“ and again is awarded with the Innovations-Price Thuringia. At the tip of the millennium 67 people work for the implant manufacturer.

2001

Special plates and screws as well as the first veterinary implants are now part of the Königsee product portfolio. The enhancement of the sortiment demands for a personnell increase in the research & development department. Furthermore an effective production planning and management system optimizes various processes. At the international congress for ideas, developments and new products our company was awarded with two silver medals. The number of people employed increases to 71.

2002

In this year further investments in production are undertaken: the number of machines is increased.

One highlight in this year is the user-meeting with leading international traumatologists. Another hight-point is the presence at the Developers Congress in Geneva, where Königsee Implantate receives a silver medal. At this moment 75 people are working for Königsee Implantate.

2003

Königsee Implantate celebrates ist 10th anniversary. Highlight in this year is the official award of the "Golden Light-bowl" during the science broadcast "Einfach genial" (Just genious).

In the company there are undertaken more investments in new technology and the enhancement of export and development-team. The demand of user-meetings is consistantly high. Up until now 88 people are working for Königsee Implantate – two of them are trainees.

2004

The number of machines is increased by a High-pressure compactor with which implants automatically can be shaped. A milestone was set when delivery times were to be reduced: 95% of the incoming orders are leaving our facilities for dispatch within 24 hours. The regular user-meetings are recognized as medical vocational trainings and demands increases.

This year Frank Orschler, sun of the company founder, is appointed CEO.

The radius-set is awarded by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Sterilgutversorgung (German Association for Sterilization) as the most "innovative product of the year". Addionally we are happy to receive a placement among the TOP 100 most innovative companies in Germany.

2005

With the construction of the new building for production and administrational rooms under private housing conditions and with heat-exchanger we set a clear signal for environmental protection.

The increasing demand for our products results in further investments into development- and manufacturing technique. Export department is delivering to China, Brasil, Russia, Mexico and Scandinavia.

This year the extra-curricular activity at the school in Königsee begins. Königsee Implantate again belongs among the Top 100 German companies. Additionally we are awarded with the "Mutmacher der Nation" (Courager of the nation) Thüringen and "Ethics in Business". In 2005 the 100-employees-mark was exceeded.

2006

Königsee Implantate is chosen place in course of the initiative "Germany - Land of Ideas, 365 places". During this event an Open-Doors-Day is organized. The district of Saalfeld-Rudolstadt awards CEO Erich Orschler with the price as "Entrepreneur of the year". Furthermore we reach 3rd place in the competition of "Sustainable middle class".

In February this year an additional company building is opened by Prime Minister of Thuringia, Dieter Althaus.

Under the auspices of the Thuringian Education-minister Prof. Dr. Jens Goebel we donate the company-initiated competition called "Next generation ideas (NGI) – give the world an idea" a scientific development project for young people and students.

2007

This year we include further spinal products in our product catalogue.

A special event is the conduct of a project week with pupils of class 11 of the Odenwaldschule, Heppenheim in the course of the Germany-wide evonomic initiative "Jugend denkt Zukunft" (Youth thinking future).

For the forth time in a row Königsee Implantate is placed among the Top 100 most innovative companies in Germany.

2008

The project week "Youth thinking future" this year is conducted with class 10 of the school in Königsee.

This year Königsee Implantate receives the fith price for being among the Top 100 most innovative companies in Germany. The number of employees inbetween increased to 130.

2009

Together with the university of Jena and the technology-group INNOVENT Jena e.V. we developed a special surface treatment (TiOB®) for titanium-implants and patented it.

The update of products demands for another enlargement of production space: all processes necessary for the surface treatment are combined on 290 sqm. Furthermore the construction of a modern training centre begins and a training-team is employed. All in all at this time 141 people and 9 apprentices work for Königsee Implantate.

2010

Frank Orschler becomes sole owner of Königsee Implantate. His father and founder of the company, Erich Orschler, retires.

In August the official opening of the new training centre in Unterschöbling takes place with Prime Minister of Thuringia, Christine Lieberknecht.

For the 6th time Königsee Implantate is recognized as one of the Top 100 most innovative companies in Germany. 150 people are employed.

2011

Market launch of RoSA® - An innovative principle for the fixation of the head-neck-fragment in case of fractures at the coxal femoral end.

In autumn this year a cooperation agreement with the school in Bad Blankenburg in the course of KURS 21 is singed. It is the goal to give the pupils the possibility to have a look into a possible profession. Königsee Implantate can be happy about the achieved final placements in the competition "Entrepreneur of the year" and during the "German Industrial Price". Also: the company was jury-member during the "Great Price of Middleclass". In this year 152 employees work on the high quality of the Königsee-implants.

2012

Humerusplatte und des Ellenbogen-Set

In spring of this year is the market launch of the distal Humerus plates and the elbow-set.

2013

Königsee Implantate will celebrate its 20th Anniversary this year and looks back at a successful development of the company which was only possible with a lot of effort from management as well as from the Königsee-team and many external partners and consultants.

The combination-set for the variable angle-stable Patellaplate and the Handarthrodesisplate 19.671.xxx represents the most recent set configuration for the combination of 2.7 and 3.5 mm systems by Königsee.

2014

For the second time, after 2006, Königsee Implantate is one of 100 "Excellent places in the land of ideas". This year the award is based on the competition entry "Training center for cutting technology - career in rural areas". About 1000 research institutes, companies and associations took part in the nationwide competition. The certificate and the trophy of the Federal President were officially presented to CEO Frank Orschler on October 7th.

2015

Königsee Implantate keeps on investing in the location Aschau by purchasing six further state-of-the-art automated lathes and milling machines for about 1.8 million Euro.

Again one apprentice of Königsee Implantate is awarded as best cutting mechanic by the IHK Gera. This year it is the 20 years old Benjamin Geyer, who completes his three and a half years` apprentice training as best examinee. Between 70 and 100 trainees pass this examination annually. Since 2010 apprentices of Königsee Implantate have reached three times the top position, three times the 2nd place and four times the 3rd place.

2016

The targeting device of the PolyAxNail®, developed in cooperation with the company OT Medizintechnik, is reddot Winner 2016 and awarded for high design quality.

Königsee Implantate educates the state`s best cutting mechanic. With an outstanding exam result Steven Ludwig is not only chamber`s best in all apprenticeship trades of the IHK Gera, but also state`s best of the year 2016.

Historie

Wie alles begann…

Die Geschichte von Königsee Implantate reicht zurück bis zum Ende des ersten Weltkrieges: Im Jahre 1919 gründete der Orthopädiemechaniker Otto Bock in Berlin eine Firma, um Kriegsversehrte mit Prothesen und orthopädischen Produkten zu versorgen, welche kurz darauf nach Königsee in Thüringen umzog. Otto Bock realisierte die Idee, Prothesenpassteile in Serienproduktion zu fertigen und direkt an die Orthopädiemechaniker vor Ort zu liefern. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg im Jahr 1948 erlitt die Firma einen Schicksalsschlag: der Firmengründer wurde enteignet und die Firma verstaatlicht.

Mit dem Fall der Mauer, wurde das Unternehmen wieder privatisiert und wechselte zum Teil zurück in den Besitz von Otto Bock. Der Bereich für die Herstellung von Implantaten und Instrumenten zur Osteosynthese wurde unter dem Namen "Orthopädie Königsee" von der Treuhand an einen französischen Investor verkauft. Im September 1993 ging das Unternehmen jedoch in die Insolvenz.

Damit öffnet sich eine Tür für Erich Orschler: Nach kurzen Verhandlungsgesprächen mit Stadt und Land gründete er im Oktober 1993 das völlig neue Unternehmen "Königsee Implantate und Instrumente zur Osteosynthese GmbH" mit Sitz in Königsee. Mit einem kleinen Maschinenpark und dem starken Willen der verbliebenen Mitarbeiter der ehemaligen Orthopädie Königsee, begann die Erfolgsgeschichte von Königsee Implantate.

2015

Königsee Implantate investiert weiterhin am Standort Aschau. Rund 1.8 Mio Euro flossen in die Anschaffung von sechs weiteren hochmodernen automatisierten Dreh- und Fräsmaschinen.

Erneut wurde ein Auszubildender von Königsee Implantate als Bester seines Faches gekürt. 2015 war es der 20jährige Benjamin Geyer, der nach dreieinhalbjähriger Ausbildung als Prüfungsbester der IHK Gera im Berufsbild Zerspanungsmechaniker ausgezeichnet wurde. Insgesamt konnten die Auszubildenden von Königsee Implantate seit 2010 dreimal den 1. Platz, dreimal den 2. Platz und viermal den 3. Platz erreichen - und das unter jeweils 70 bis 100 Lehrlingen, die diese Prüfung jährlich ablegten.

1993

Unternehmensgründung: Erich Orschler gründet die Firma Königsee Implantate und Instrumente zur Osteosynthese GmbH in Königsee. Die Aufnahme der Produktion startet mit nur sieben Mitarbeitern.

1994

Bereits ein Jahr nach Unternehmensgründung wird das Produktsortiment erweitert und Titan als Fertigungsmaterial neben Stahl eingeführt.

1995

Da die Produktionsstätte in Königsee nicht mehr ausreicht, erwirbt das Unternehmen ein Grundstück in Aschau. Im Oktober diesen Jahres ziehen die bis dato 13 Mitarbeiter in ein neues 600 qm großes Firmengebäude ein.

1996

In diesem Jahr lässt Königsee Implantate die Non-Contact-Platte patentieren, es wird modernste CNC-Herstellungstechnik angeschafft und die Vertriebsstruktur auf Gesamtdeutschland erweitert. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt arbeiten 20 Mitarbeiter für den Unternehmenserfolg.

1997

Den Entwicklern gelingt ein großer Sprung: Erstmals ermöglicht ein Wirbelkörperimplantat eine minimal-invasive Versorgung. Königsee Implantate wird für den Thüringer Innovationspreis nominiert und beschäftigt zu diesem Zeitpunkt 28 Mitarbeiter.

1998

Eine NASA-Technologie optimiert die Qualität der Titan-Implantate: Die Vorteile des neuen Verfahrens sind eine erhöhte Festigkeit sowie die deutliche Verringerung des Risikos von Reibungskorrosion und Kaltverschweißung. Ein weltweites Patent schützt seit diesem Jahr die Wirbelkörper-Implantate. Der 1997 entwickelte höhenverstellbare Wirbelsäulenkorb X-tenz® wird erstmals im OP eingesetzt. Unser Unternehmen wird zertifiziert nach ISO 46001 & RL 42/93 EWG. Bei Königsee Implantate sind mittlerweile 48 Mitarbeiter angestellt und räumen zusammen den Innovationspreis Thüringen ab.

1999

In diesem Jahr entwickelt Königsee Implantate neue winkelstabile Systeme, welche die Frakturheilzeit erheblich verkürzen. Königsee Implantate kann den Ehrenpreis Neuland 2 und den Wissenschaftspreis MO entgegennehmen. Die Mitarbeiteranzahl ist auf 50 gewachsen.

2000

Königsee Implantate entwickelt gemeinsam mit spanischen Orthopäden ein patentiertes Schrauben-/Stabsystems für die Wirbelsäule. Für den weltweiten Vertrieb des Implantats wird ein Kooperationsvertrag mit Johnson & Johnson vereinbart.

Das stetige Wachstum des Unternehmens verlangt nach einer Verdopplung der Produktionsfläche mit neuen Fertigungshallen. In diesem Jahr freut sich Königsee Implantate den OSKAR für mittelständische Unternehmen und erneut den Innovationspreis Thüringen entgegen nehmen zu können. Zur Jahrtausendwende arbeiten 67 Menschen für den Implantate-Hersteller.

2001

Es werden Spezialplatten und -schrauben sowie die ersten Veterinärimplantate ins Produktangebot aufgenommen. Die Erweiterung des Sortiments erfordert den Ausbau der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung. Darüber hinaus optimiert ein effektives Produktionsplanungs- und Warenwirtschaftssystem die Geschäftsabläufe. Bei der internationalen Fachmesse für Ideen, Erfindungen und neue Produkte (iENA Nürnberg) kann unser Unternehmen zwei Silbermedaillen entgegen nehmen. Die Mitarbeiterzahl erhöht sich auf 71.

2002

In diesem Jahr kommt es zu weiteren Investitionen in der Produktion: Der Maschinenpark wird erweitert.

Ein Highlight des Jahres ist das erste Anwendertreffen mit führenden internationalen Traumatologen. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt ist die Präsenz auf der Erfindermesse Genf, auf der Königsee Implantate eine Silbermedaille erhält. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt arbeiten 75 Menschen bei Königsee Implantate.

2003

Königsee Implantate feiert sein 10 jähriges Bestehen. Der Höhepunkt in diesem Jahr ist die feierliche Verleihung der Goldenen Glühbirne von der Wissenschaftssendung "Einfach genial".

Im Unternehmen wird in neue Technik und den Ausbau des Export- und des Entwicklungsteams investiert. Die Nachfrage nach den Anwendertreffen steigt stetig und bis dato arbeiten 88 Mitarbeiter im Unternehmen, darunter sieben im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung und zwei Auszubildende.

2004

Unser Maschinenpark wird um eine Hochdruckpresse erweitert mit der Implantate anatomisch vorgeformt werden können. Einen Meilenstein setzen wir hinsichtlich der Lieferschnelligkeit: Bereits 95% der eingehenden Bestellungen gehen binnen 24 Stunden in den Versand. Unsere regelmäßigen Anwendertreffen sind seit diesem Jahr als ärztliche Fortbildung anerkannt und die Nachfrage steigt weiter.

In diesem Jahr wird Frank Orschler, Sohn des Unternehmensgründers, als Geschäftsführer bestellt.

Das Radius-Set wird durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Sterilgutversorgung als "innovativstes Produkt des Jahres" ausgezeichnet. Weiterhin dürfen wir uns wieder über eine Platzierung unter den Top 100 innovativsten Unternehmen im Deutschen Mittelstand freuen und über eine Silbermedaille auf der Erfindermesse Genf.

2005

Mit dem Neubau eines Produktions- und Bürogebäudes nach Wohnungsbaustandard mit Regenwassernutzungsanlage und Einbindung der vorhandenen Maschinen-Prozessabwärme in das Energiekonzept setzen wir ein klares Zeichen für den Umweltschutz.

Die wachsende Nachfrage an unseren Produkten verlangt nach weiteren Investitionen in die Entwicklungs- und die Produktionstechnik. Unterstützt durch den Export beliefern wir China, Brasilien, Russland, Mexiko und Skandinavien.

In diesem Jahr startet die "Arbeitsgemeinschaft Metall" an der Regelschule Königsee. Königsee Implantate ist erneut unter den Top 100 des deutschen Mittelstands. Außerdem sind wir Preisträger beim Wettbewerb "Mutmacher der Nation" Thüringen und "Ethics in Business". Die Einhundert-Mitarbeitermarke wurde 2005 überschritten.

2006

Königsee Implantate ist ausgewählter Ort im Rahmen der Initiative "Deutschland - Land der Ideen, 365 Orte". Zu diesem Anlass findet ein Tag der offenen Tür statt. Der Landkreis Saalfeld-Rudolstadt zeichnet unseren Geschäftsführer Erich Orschler als "Unternehmer des Jahres" aus. Weiterhin erreicht unser Unternehmen beim Förderpreis "Nachhaltiger Mittelstand" den 3. Platz.

Im Februar diesen Jahres wird ein zusätzliches Firmengebäude durch Thüringens Ministerpräsident Dieter Althaus eingeweiht.

Unter der Schirmherrschaft des Thüringer Kultusministers Prof. Dr. Jens Goebel stiften wir den firmeneigenen Ideenwettbewerb "Next generation ideas (NGI) – Schenk der Welt eine Idee", ein Forschungsprojekt für Jugendliche und Studenten.

2007

In diesem Jahr nehmen wir Wirbelsäulenprodukte der Firma Spineart (Schweiz) ins Produktportfolio auf.

Ein außergewöhnliches Unternehmen ist die Durchführung einer Projektwoche mit Schülern der 11. Klasse der Odenwaldschule Heppenheim im Rahmen der bundesweiten Wirtschaftsinitiative "Jugend denkt Zukunft".

Zum vierten Mal in Folge erreicht Königsee Implantate eine Platzierung unter den TOP 100 innovativsten Unternehmen Deutschlands.

2008

Die Projektwoche im Rahmen der Wirtschaftsinitiative "Jugend denkt Zukunft" findet in diesem Jahr mit Schülern der 10. Klasse der Regelschule Königsee statt.

In diesem Jahr nimmt Königsee Implantate die Fünfte Auszeichnung im Rahmen der TOP 100 als eines der 100 innovativsten Unternehmen Deutschlands entgegen. Unsere Mitarbeiterzahl ist derweil auf 130 gestiegen.

2009

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Jena und der Technologie-Gruppe INNOVENT Jena e.V. entwickeln wir eine spezielle Beschichtung (TiOB®) für Titanimplantate und lassen diese patentieren.

Die Weiterentwicklungen erfordern eine erneute Vergrößerung der Produktionsfläche: Alle Prozesse der Oberflächenveredelung werden auf 290 qm zusammengefasst. Darüber hinaus beginnt der Bau einer modernen Ausbildungswerkstatt und ein Lehrausbilder wird eingestellt. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt arbeiten 141 Mitarbeiter, davon neun Auszubildende bei Königsee Implantate.

2010

Frank Orschler wird alleiniger Gesellschafter von Königsee Implantate.
Sein Vater und Unternehmensgründer Erich Orschler zieht sich aus dem Geschäft zurück.

Im August findet die feierliche Einweihung unserer Ausbildungswerkstatt in Unterschöbling mit Ministerpräsidentin Christine Lieberknecht statt.

Zum sechsten Mal landet Königsee Implantate unter den Top 100 innovativsten Unternehmen Deutschlands. 150 Mitarbeiter, davon neun Auszubildende sind mittlerweile im Unternehmen beschäftigt.

2011

Die Markteinführung von RoSA®, einem innovativen Prinzip zur Fixierung des Kopf-Hals-Fragmentes bei Frakturen am coxalen Femurende, beginnt.

Im Herbst diesen Jahres wird ein Kooperationsvertrag mit der Regelschule Bad Blankenburg im Rahmen der Initiative KURS 21 besiegelt. Ziel ist es, Schülerinnen und Schülern schon während ihrer Schullaufbahn die Möglichkeit zu geben, ins Berufsleben hineinzuschnuppern. Königsee Implantate kann sich über Finalistenplätze beim Wettbewerb "Entrepreneur des Jahres" und beim "Deutschen Innovationspreis" freuen. Des Weiteren ist unser Unternehmen Jurymitglied beim "Großen Preis des Mittelstands" der Oskar Patzelt Stifung. In diesem Jahr arbeiten 152 Mitarbeiter bei Königsee Implantate.

2012

Humerusplatte und des Ellenbogen-Set

Im Frühjahr diesen Jahres findet die Markteinführung der distalen Humerusplatte und des Ellenbogen-Sets statt.

2013

Königsee Implantate feiert in diesem Jahr sein 20jähriges Bestehen und schaut zurück auf eine erfolgreiche Unternehmensentwicklung, die auf viel Engagement vom Management und des ganzen Königsee-Teams sowie vielen externen Partnern zurückgeht.

Das Kombinationsset für die variabel winkelstabile Patellaplatte sowie die Handarthrodesenplatte 19.671.xxx stellt die neueste Setkonfiguration für die Kombination von 2,7 und 3,5 mm Systemen von Königsee dar.

2014

Mit dem Wettbewerbsbeitrag "Ausbildungszentrum für Zerspanungstechnik - Karriere auf dem Land" gehört Königsee Implantate zu den 100 Preisträgern des bundesweiten Wettbewerbs „Ausgezeichnete Orte im Land der Ideen“ 2014. Deutschlandweit bewarben sich rund 1.000 Forschungseinrichtungen, Unternehmen oder Vereine um die 100 Preisträger-Plätze. Am 7.Oktober wurden Urkunde und Pokal des Bundespräsidenten offiziell an Geschäftsführer Frank Orschler überreicht. Nach 2006 erhielt Königsee Implantate diese Auszeichnung bereits zum 2. Mal.